Review: G.Skill FlareX Black 16GB DDR4 Kit 3200 CL14 (2x 8GB Module) [F4-3200C14D-16GFX]

The choice of the motherboard for AMD processors should be treated with special attention. But what about the memory? In order to avoid compatibility problems, a special series of G.Skill FlareX Black 16GB DDR4 Kit 3200 CL14 (2x 8GB Module) memory bars [F4-3200C14D-16GFX] appeared on the market, which will help the buyer to launch the entire AMD-based system instantly!

G.Skill FlareX Black 16GB DDR4 Kit 3200 CL14 (2x 8GB Module) [F4-3200C14D-16GFX] operates at 3.200 MHz with CL14 timings, with a voltage of only 1.35 V for operation at such a high frequency. High frequency is achieved through the use of chips Samsung B-Die, which have long proved themselves not only as reliable chips, but also as an excellent memory for overclocking.

You can buy G.Skill FlareX Black 16GB DDR4 Kit RAM for the price 194,99 €. Don’t forget to use discount coupon on computeruniverse.netFWNNROU (How to use it?).

Specs

  • Series: Flare X (for AMD)
  • optimized compatibility with AMD X370, B350 and A320 chipsets
  • 2 DDR4 memory modules
  • module capacity 8 GB
  • form factor DIMM, 288-pin
  • frequency 3200 MHz
  • CAS Latency (CL): 14
  • timings 14-14-14-34
  • cooling: stylish aluminum radiator
  • Intel XMP 2.0 (Extreme Memory Profile) Ready
  • installation height: 40 mm / 1.58 inches
  • supply voltage 1.35 V
  • warranty: lifetime limited warranty

Review of G.Skill FlareX Black 16GB DDR4 Kit 3200 CL14 (2x 8GB Module) [F4-3200C14D-16GFX]

Advantages and disadvantages

Advantages of memory kit G.Skill Flare X 3200 MHz

 

  • Optimized for Ryzen systems: They are well-matched to the capabilities of the memory controller of the Ryzen processors, including the internal structure of the modules.
  • At high stated frequencies, memory modules provide noticeable performance gains on most Ryzen systems thanks to Samsung B-Die chips.
  • SPD is programmed correctly.
  • The quality of the kit does not cause any complaints, beautiful heatsink will fit into a typical gaming system.
  • G.Skill gives a lifetime warranty for the memory kit.
  • Good overclocking capability

The disadvantages of memory kits

  • Price is not cheap. Buying on computeruniverse, a set of DDR4 2x 8 GB will cost you more than 194 euros.
  • According reviews of AMD computers’ users, not everyone was able to run the memory kit at the declared frequency of 3200 Mhz for stable operation.

Rebirth of the Legendary AMD Performance Series

Designed for the latest AMD Ryzen™ processor, the Flare X series DDR4 memory kit marks the return of the legendary Flare memory that provided awesome performance in the previous generation of DDR memory. Upgrade your next AMD system into the ultimate gaming rig or a powerful workstation with the Flare X series DDR4 memory!

Designed for AMD Platforms

Returning from the ashes, the new AMD architecture features a completely different set of memory enhancements, requiring a new approach. The Flare X memory series is designed with a distinct characteristic to optimize compatibility with the latest AMD platform.

Faster Transfer Speed

Available in memory speeds starting from DDR4-2133MHz, the Flare X series delivers high speed memory performance to efficiently transfer data for each of the cores on the AMD Ryzen processor.

Experience Performance

Each and every single Flare X memory kit is tested under G.SKILL’s rigorous testing process to ensure the best performance, compatibility, and stability on your AMD system.

Power Efficient

Designed with a low voltage of 1.2V~1.35V at DDR4 standard, this lowers the memory voltage requirement by 20% from DDR3 memory kits! Now your system can perform even faster without becoming an expensive appliance heater.

Limited Lifetime Warranty

All G.SKILL memory products come with a limited lifetime warranty and the G.SKILL technical team is always ready to provide consumers with complete technical support via online forum, telephone, and email.

Testing of G.Skill FlareX Black 16GB DDR4 Kit 3200 CL14 (2x 8GB Module) [F4-3200C14D-16GFX]

SPD programming

SPD programming in the CPU-Z application. G.Skill made no mistakes, the ASUS motherboard recognized the modules without any problems. Available profiles help to overcklock above the official Ryzen specifications. The maximum frequency of 3.200 MHz is correctly determined by G.Skill with delays of 14-14-14-34, the voltage of 1.35 V is also correctly indicated. All other clock frequencies are reachable at 1.2 V.

Tests: increase memory frequency

Let us estimate the influence of the memory frequency, which was gradually increased from 2.400 MHz to 2.666 MHz, and then we tested the levels of 2.999 MHz and 3.200 MHz. The work at the next step of 3.466 MHz was unstable, despite the increase in the memory voltage to 1.5 V and the voltage of the CPU and SOC by +0.1 V. The tests were performed with timings 14-14-14-34.

The memory bandwidth in the Sisoft Sandra test responds better to clock frequencies than to delays.

Cinebench is a CPU test that should show the effect of the memory subsystem on intensive computations.

7-Zip is an archiver that responds well to delays and memory frequencies.

Far Cry Primal game at 1920 × 1080 should also respond to both parameters.

Ghost Recon 4K (low detail) almost does not respond due to high resolution.

Ryzen memory bandwidth scales well with increasing clock speeds. Tests showed an increase bandwidth from 29.89 GB / s to 38.62 GB / s, which is also noticeable in real life. In the Cinebench test, the increase in performance was 2%, although this benchmark CPU usually reacts little to changes in the memory subsystem. In Far Cry Primal, the minimum fps value increased from 65 to 71 fps, i.e. 8.5%. As for the average frame rate, the advantage here was 2 fps. The frequency of the memory had no effect on the reproduction of powerful games (such as Ghost Recon).

Tests: Timing Changes

Performance testing with different delays at 2.666 MHz.

In the SiSoft Sandra test, the difference is not significant. Memory bandwidth increased slightly from 32.0 to 32.71 GB / s. In the Cinebench test, the effect was even smaller, the performance remained almost unchanged. In the 7-Zip test – a performance increased by 1.3%. In Far Cry Primal, the minimum fps increased slightly, although not as much as in the case of increasing frequencies. The reduction in delays from CL18 to CL14 led to an increase in minimum fps by 3%. In the game Ghost Recon, we received a minimum frame rate of 26.5 fps and an average frame rate of 40.5 fps, without any special changes.

SiSoft Sandra. 2666 Mhz

Cinebench 15. 2666 Mhz

7-Zip. 2666 Mhz

FarCry Primal. 2666 Mhz

Ghost Recon Wildlands. 2666 Mhz

Memory overclocking

Having overclocked the base frequency to 110.9 MHz, we managed to achieve the indicator 3.550 MHz. The bandwidth has risen to 43.08 GB / s. We managed to keep the delays at a rather low level of 14-14-14-34, the system worked stably at these settings. However, we had to set the voltage of the modules to a very high level of 1.5 V. The PCI Express bus has already switched to PCIe 2.0 mode, so that such settings only in real situations will only slow down the work.

Tests are taken from the site hardwareluxx.ru

Customer Reviews

Buyers recommend this memory for configurations with Ryzen 7 processors because of its excellent compatibility with completely different systems. Users of AMD-based computers usually didn’t have any difficulties running memory modules at 3200 Mhz.

OUTSTANDING!!!!

September 8, 2017 [Verified Purchase] 

This kit is amazing. I own two of them and have both kits (32gb total) running in a single system 100% stable. Prior to purchasing two of these kits, I had Corsair LPX 16Gb (2x8gb) 3000MHz CL 16 and could not near the rated speeds or even run the system stable at anything above 2400MHz. I would like to push the ram at advertised CL 14-14-14-14-34 (can do so with one kit but not two ) but the memory controller on the Ryzen processor will not let it (yet). Maybe future bios upgrades will allow me to so. Using a single kit, I was able to push CPU 3.9GHz (1.38V) 100% stable and able to tighten the memory latency to CL 14-14-14-14-28 (1.35V) @ the advertised 3200Mhz. With two kits (equaling 32gb) I was able to push them up to 3600MHz CL 16-18-18-18-35 (1.4V) which makes them overclock-able. I did settle on the following configurations as for my needs gives me 100% stability without pushing my hardware too far and a well balanced system. Anything higher than the clocks mentioned below (specifically cpu) would only run stable on benchmarks, most games and simple applications. It would not run 100% stable on “intensive” applications (software which i use on a daily bases which uses 100% of my complete system).
My set up:
Asus ROG Hero VI mother board (non wifi)
Ryzen 7 1700x OC @ 3.85GHz 1.375V
Corsair H115i AIO
Gskil Flare X @ 3200MHz (two kits = 32gb ram) CL 14-16-16-16-31 1.4v (with VDDSOC @ 1.05v)
Asus Strix Nvidea 1070 (x2 in SLI)
Samsung Evo 960 pro M.2 SSD 512gb
Segate Firecuda 2tb (x3)
Corsair RX850x PSU
Corsair 400c Case
If anyone is curious, my cinebench score averages 1691 with the above mentioned clocks. Changing memory frequency to anything higher than 3200mhz or changing its latency did not make a significant difference.
UPDATE: I played with my system a little more and did some fine tunning. In order to get both kits running at advertised speeds and tightened latencies, I upped the processor voltage to 1.38125V. This allowed me to run 32gb of this ram at 3200MHz CL 14-14-14-14-28-42 100% stable. All other settings remained the same as mentioned above. Cinebench score went up to average 1705. Everything is working great with no hiccups.

Customer review from Amazon

 

May not run as advertised.
December 25, 2018
Put this kit in a gigabyte B450 gaming AC mini-itx motherboard with a 2700x processor. Updated BIOS to support AGESA 1.0.0.6… The system will POST and boot Windows set to what this motherboard shows as XMP profile #2 (the 3200 setting). Windows would occasionally blue screen and applications will unexpectedly crash due to memory error. So I then decided to boot said system to memtest. Every test passes without fail except for the hammer test. Failing the hammer test is an indication of high frequency bit flipping, meaning one or more of the chips in my kit are not able to handle running at the 3200 speed. After playing with voltages and timings manually, I discovered this kit is simply a silicon lottery fail. The kit does however run reliably on the other XMP profile, that being 2933 with the same timings as the 3200 profile.

Critical review from Amazon

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *